top of page

A Teddy Blake Summer Solstice


Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Betse Johnson Necklace
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Magnolia
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Historic Magnolia Tree
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Southern Charm
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Southern Magnolia

It's no secret that summer is my favorite season. I've always been fascinated with summer solstice, the day when the sun reaches its highest position in the sky and calendar-wise formally marks the beginning of summer. The date of summer solstice is usually June 21 for us in the northern hemisphere. The southern hemisphere's solstice is December 22. It's also the longest day of the year with 17 glorious hours of daylight to enjoy!

Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Southern Living

As a self-professed summer fanatic, as soon as the weather begins to stay consistently warm, my wanderlust peaks and I start to practice how to use my 17 hours of daylight! My first practice run was on a recent trip to Roanoke, VA. We spent our time there at a beautiful, historic hotel that I'll take you on a tour of in another post ( HERE ;-). Our first evening in town was pleasantly warm. I chose this easy breezy, white two-piece outfit to wear because it was the first time I was taking my new Teddy Blake Handbag out on the town!

Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Teddy Blake NY
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Teddy Blake Caty

Caty is my new Teddy Blake bag, and as much as I want to say that she was the perfect accessory to my outfit, I must admit that my summer outfit was the perfect accessory to her! Girlfriend has really stepped up my handbag game! If you're a frequent friend here, then you know that I fancy unique and timeless collections for both wardrobe and home. That's why I am so ecstatic about my latest collaboration with Teddy Blake New York and the timeless elegance of their custom-made handbags. Custom, meaning that when you place your order at TeddyBlake.com that is when your bag, made to order exclusively for you, is designed. Custom and made of the finest in Italian leather, I didn't take light my choices in bag style, color and size. In the spirit of summer solstice and knowing that I wanted to include Caty in my summer travels, I was choosing between white or yellow leather. In our first getaway together, I couldn't be happier with all my carefully curated choices for my first custom handbag.

Shaunda Necole iPersonalShop.com Summer
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Summertime

My Caty is one of the newest of Teddy Blake's Caty Collection, having gold hardware instead of the original silver. She is a 12" gal, although she is available in a smaller 10" size and a larger 14". I'm happy with Caty 12". She is perfect to house all my essentials and then some, and also the perfect size for holding. Even though Caty comes with a shoulder strap companion, I like to keep her on my arm because in my opinion she was made (custom just for me ;-) to hold and to behold!

You'll get to know Caty pretty well this summer, as I've found out from our first trip together that she is well traveled. She's perfect in look for day or night, and functional enough in size to keep up with a girl like me that's always on the go!

Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Summer Solstice 2018
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Summer Glow
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Teddy Blake Handbags
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Sun kissed

Just as nostalgic as choosing a timeless, treasured handbag by Teddy Blake, Caty and I stumbled upon what I call a "secret garden" during our stay at the hotel. The garden housed a single magnolia tree, magnificent in size because it was planted in the early 1900's. Today it is the oldest tree on this historic property, and certainly the most charming. I couldn't resist sharing with you the majesty and southern charm of this grand magnolia.

Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Summer Golden Hour
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Julie Vos Cuff

Summer solstice is a whimsical reminder for me to find the magic in every moment.

Over the next week I'll continue practicing how to maximize my cherished 17 hours of daylight on June 21.

What are your plans for the summer?

Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Secret Garden
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Whimsical Garden
Shaunda Necole iPersonal Shop Saucer Magnolia is the oldest tree

Sharing My Style:

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Featured Posts
iPersonal Shop Celebrity Stylist
bottom of page