top of page

5 Reasons Why Photography Matters


Click on any of the rotating images to shop my look!

I think it's fair to say that I take a lot of pictures! In just a year, my photos have advanced from my own personal edits, to brand invitations to promote for them. The quality of my work is now more important than ever. The responsibility has become mine to relay the value of a particular brand's product via imagery. I do admit that I personally take a good amount of my still shots. However, I rely heavily on photographers when it comes to my brand work and my personal portraits. Here's why?

In my new line of work with social media, discover ability means everything! I spend countless hours curating the best outfits and home decor, and add on even more time for linking products and choosing the right hash tags to permanently catalog these images. This strict and time consuming formula would all be in vain without the photography. In less than a year, I've had multiple posts featured by national brands like Target and Jack Rogers (personal accomplishment, Target even follows 'lil ole me! ;-). I've even received a request from Williams-Sonoma to reuse a picture that I'd posted! I would not have received these acknowledgements in such a short amount of time if my images were not great from the start.

I'm always striving for excellence, so I don't just use any picture for the sake of posting. I try to create visuals that tell a story. Photographers get this. They are trained to see the whole story and suspend in time moments from that story.

Photographers are often gifted in styling, too. I've worked with IS Product and Food Photography from The Studio Hampton Roads on one of my most important home decor shoots. We were challenged with a bright sunny day, coupled with dark cloud cover. These photographers managed everything for me including location, lighting and even proper product placements and portrait poses. I came with a vivid idea, and they successfully transformed the painting in my mind into real life imagery! Having photographers there to handle all of this for me made my job so much easier. I was able to place my full concentration on my poses for the products I was representing.

Autumn photo shoot styled by The Studio Hampton Roads

Five Things You can Count on Photographers to Understand:

1.// Lighting and the best arrangement of people and products in a given light source for the most flattering results

2.// Etiquette in posing. They know and will tell you how to angle your head, where to place your hands, etc.

3.// Mastering the Perfect Pose they know exactly how to position you or your products to achieve the most stunning look

4.// Photo Editing which saves you countless hours because they know how to make everything picture perfect without distorting the final image

5.// How to utilize the Really Expensive Cameras that they own with all the bells and whistles to make anything look amazing!

It's almost November, and I thought what better time than just before the holidays to partner with my friends at The Studio Hampton Roads. They have the most versatile and modern studio setting for professional photographers to use. Their studio space is so beautiful that it can also be reserved as an event venue! It was the first time my pup, Prince George visited their location. (Add to the above list that photographers work well with pets, too!) They did an awesome job capturing our adventures during one of their on site mini photo shoots. Notice all of the details in the playful shots we achieved. The background looks unreal! This shoot was set up at their beautiful, natural lighting studio that also has a large outdoor space. Definitely call on them for your upcoming holiday portraits. They are now accepting appointments for their Christmas mini photo sessions HERE. Trust them to make sure your family Christmas cards really stand out this year! I definitely recommend relying on a photographer to capture your most important memories and to deliver exceptional results in branding.

A very special Thanks to The Studio Hampton Roads for gifting Prince George and I with this whimsical portrait session at their spectacular studio.

You can schedule your very own holiday mini photo session with them HERE!

Click on any of the rotating images to shop my look!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Featured Posts
iPersonal Shop Celebrity Stylist
bottom of page