top of page

10 Jewelry Pieces Every Lady Should Own


I don't go anywhere worth being without my earrings on! That's my mantra, and I'm sticking to it. The perks of being a lady, right? We get to add on all kinds of fun accessories and create mantras, hash tags, wish lists and outfits all centered around charms and treasures for our jewelry box. I certainly have my staple items that mix well with my everyday wear. These are what I call my signature pieces, you know, when you see something similar you'd say "that's so me". Even with my signatures, a jewelry box is not curated on only those few pieces alone. For starters, a lady should absolutely have a few other classic pieces as part of her collection. I've done some searching around and have found that you don't have to break the bank just to add to your jewelry box. Here's what I've rounded up that every lady should absolutely have as part of her jewelry collection:

1. Strand of Pearls~ Can you say "classy"? From formal, to elegant, preppy or just straight classic, a strand of pearls is a must. Pair with jeans, sweaters, blazers or evening gowns. You will certainly get your money's worth from these little seaside treasures. Today I love how pearl strands are available in traditional smaller sizes or in more modern, chunkier versions. I do own a few strings of pearls, but my favorite are a whimsical strand of gray pearls with black satin ribbon running through the necklace.

2. Cocktail Ring~ This is the conversation starter of your jewelry box. Worn on the right hand, cocktail rings are usually large in center stone. They are so fun because it's the chance to choose a stone to show off your personality and style, other than your given birthstone. I rotate my cocktails between my pointer and ring finger, honestly depending on the weather & which finger they fit on better in a given season, lol! Also, because the gemstones in cocktail rings are often imitations, this piece may ironically be the largest of your ring collection, however the least in expense!

3. Rock Star Piece~ When does it get more fun than THIS! This is the unexpected, wow factor, or as I would say, "the oh my whimsy!" piece that can be styled casual, glam or even with a more conservative outfit as your x-factor. Rock stars have been inspiring us for years with their rugged sense of style from chokers, to studs, skulls and leather cuffs. My favorite is a Betsy Johnson skull leather cuff that I received as a gift some several Christmases past. I've linked a few similarities to choose from today.

4. Diamond Studs~ The classic sparkler. Wear with ANYTHING, and these can be real or diamond-like (only you need to know ;-). I mean, these are as classic as the strand of pearls...Enough said.

5. Cuff Bracelet~ You'll always find me in either a cuff bracelet or a set of bangles. And if I'm feeling really sassy; Both for a real arm party! There is only one rule with cuffs and that is, "The Bigger, The Bolder, The Better!".

6. Dangle Earrings~ Oh so elegant and oh so feminine! Date night, holidays or for very special occasions, a girl can always count on her staple dangle earrings to romanticize or add charm to her look. I'm a super fan of gemstone danglies, like rubies or emeralds because of the vibrant stone colors. Faux dangle earrings can be just as impressive as real stones. However, when a lady is at the point where she's added real pieces to her collection, they can be passed along as a family heirloom. #TimelessElegance

7. Two-Toned Metal Piece~ Although I admit, I've got no qualms about mixing my silver metals with my gold metals when I wear my jewelry. Another one of my oh my whimsy! things for contrast and effect, I suppose. I do acknowledge that there are ladies who are just plain uncomfortable with doing this themselves. My remedy when you reach that moment, and you will, when both metals are needed in your accessorizing; your go to will be a two-toned metal piece. Your shirt has silver owlets but your jeans have gold stitching and hardware...No worries! Put on your two-tones jewelry with confidence, baby girl!

8. Turquoise Piece~ This one's gotta be in my top 3 of all of these must haves. I LOVE turquoise! My signature is my turquoise right hand ring. I pair it with EVERYTHING from jeans to white T's to the little black dress. Doesn't have to be a ring, though. Add a chunky turquoise bracelet or necklace for an exotically natural, yet refined look.

9. Large Watch~ Watches are a timeless classic (pun intended ;-) and large ones certainly make a statement. Often menswear inspired, there are plenty of feminine versions with the same face and band size as our male counterpart's. Because watches are simply classic, bolder sizes and unique faces make grand impressions in everyday wear.

10. Large Metal Hoop Earrings~ Listed last, but certainly not least, I view these as the go to when you need your earrings to tie it all together in a look. Not my favorite for elegant looks, I wear my staple large silver hoops with almost all of my everyday wear (can you say, "creature of habit" ;-). That's how well large hoops work with most everything! Your choice on the metal color; and as of lately we have moved further into metal choices, now including rose gold!

Shop these amazing jewelry finds that I've curated here, promising not to break the bank!

Get my pictured look:

Leave a comment ;-)

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Featured Posts
iPersonal Shop Celebrity Stylist
bottom of page