top of page

Really Quick, Really Good Gumbo

Happy 2017! I love entering the new year with good eats, and you won't believe how super easy this gumbo recipe is! This has been a go to of mine over the years, and even in typing this up to share with you I had to ask myself, "Am I missing a step?" This can't really be this easy! The prep time is so quick, followed by an even shorter cook time. Alternatively, you can also combine the ingredients in a crock pot on low heat after stir-frying the bell pepper if you need a dish that you can walk away from while it cooks. The finished gumbo is served over rice (I prefer Jasmine), and this time I garnished with pretzel bread rolls. My favorite part of this dish is cracking the succulent crab legs at the end for a final treat.

I like shopping at my neighborhood Kroger store. It's so much more than a regular grocery store. It's like a really nice market, or large food boutique. As you can see, I easily found my ingredients there. I must say that I have been truly impressed with their Kroger store brands. I choose them over the national brands most of the time.

Looks like we are getting snow here in VA this weekend, so this dish may be a cozy repeat at my house ;-)

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 5 minutes

Serves: 4

Ingredients

1 tbsp peanut oil

2 tbsp Thai red curry paste

1 red bell pepper, halved seeded and sliced

2 1/2 cups coconut milk

2 1/2 cups fish stock (seafood stock will also work)

2 tbsp Thai fish sauce

8 oz canned or fresh white crab meat

8 oz fresh or frozen crab claws or crab legs

2 tbsp fresh cilantro

3 scallions, sliced

6 cups of rice

*Tip~ I keep 'kitchen scissors' handy, which makes it easy to cut fine ingredients like the scallions and cilantro

*Tip~The beautiful wooden spoon pictured, I only used to serve; not for use over heat

1. Heat the oil in a large heavy-bottom pan, swirling it around to coat

2. Add the curry paste and bell pepper and stir-fry over medium heat for 1 minute

3. Add the coconut milk, fish stock and fish sauce and bring to a boil

4. Add the crabmeat, crab claws or legs, cilantro and scallions

5. Stir the mixture well and heat thoroughly for 2-3 minutes, or until the warmed through

6. Serve hot over rice

Enjoy!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Featured Posts
iPersonal Shop Celebrity Stylist
bottom of page