top of page

The Best 3 Take the Cake Platters


I was inspired to write this post after receiving one of my favorite things this Christmas. It's a vintage MacKenzie-Childs cake platter. Vintage, because the pattern is retired and not made any longer; but don't worry! I am glad to share the new styles and patterns available from MKC ;-) I just love the brand so much that I like to have both the old AND the new (bet my hubby just loves that ;-). So let's get started with the one I received just a few days ago for Christmas, along with my three favorites that I would suggest any hostess to have on hand.

I am the proud owner of a Bathing Hut (the pink and white stripes pattern) and Buttercup (the yellow dots pattern) Cake Platter. It's pre-owned, and I think it's actually supposed to be a Cake Carrier, with an actual carrying handle that clamps around, but I'm so happy to have it that it doesn't matter to me; I just won't carry it anywhere (lol ;-) I'm in love with how MKC combined these two patterns of Bathing Hut and Buttercup for such an oh my whimsy look, and the platter is a huge 16" diameter, showing off so much of the Bathing Hut pattern. This one is still great for cakes on display (not for travel, as I mentioned ;-). I can't wait to have company again and serve with this platter. It shows so beautifully!

Now, presenting the Best 3 Cake Platters, (according to me, anyway) all from the current MacKenzie-Childs collection, starting with their Cake Carriers. Their Cake Carriers are equipped with three components: a 16" diameter platter, a 7" tall dome that is 10.5" in diameter, and the bronzed clamp & handle carrying system. It's available in a few of their fanciful patterns, with my favorite being the White Flower Market. I think the combination of signature Courtly Check and the White Flower Market designs are so whimsical and gorgeous together; and who can miss how the dome cover is topped off with a glass jewel. It's such a fun idea how MKC suggests on their website that these Carriers can also be used to transport cookies, hors d’oeuvres or even gifts to be presented on a platter!

Next on the Best 3 Cake Platter list is the 12" diameter, 4.5" tall White Flower Market Small Pedestal Platter (what a mouthful ;-). This piece is the best for cakes and dishes that deserve the center of attention. I know the word 'small' is in the title of this platter, but at 12" in diameter, I find it to be the perfect size for my sweet-tooth presentations. They offer a larger 16" diameter version, thus this one is the 'small' of the two. What I love about this one is that it is, of course, a luxury pedestal display, and I love how I can place a separate MKC charger plate on top of the pedestal serving dish, allowing me to change up patterns in just a second!

Last, but not least, is the Mini Courtly Check Enamel Pedestal Platter. A smaller version of it's 'small' counterpart listed above, however, this 'mini' can certainly hold its own. Place the 'mini' on top of the 'small' platter for double the show and fun! The 'mini' measures in at 8" diameter and 3" tall, and again a separate MKC charger plate can be added on top of the pedestal serving dish for a quick pattern update! Another thing to rave about MKC is that I received this "mini' as a gift when purchasing at least $250 during their Courtly Check Birthday Celebration this past fall. I'll be sure to keep you posted on any of their future promos where FREE gifts are involved ;-)

To get to all of these amazing pieces, I searched "Cake" and then "Platter" on MacKenzie-Childs.com, and I also included below the direct links to my searches for your shopping pleasure. Also, if you are a fanatic of their Butterfly Garden pattern, they have a Cake Carrier and Pedestal Platter that are both currently HALF OFF during their After Holiday Sale! Hurry, though ~ The sale is only for inventory currently on hand with them, so when it's gone, it's gone!

Share a comment about which of these cake platters you love the best ;-)

Shop:

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Featured Posts
iPersonal Shop Celebrity Stylist
bottom of page